Suryakumar Yadav takes charge as India’s Captain for Australia T20Is; Shreyas Iyer returns for last two matches


With Hardik Pandya still on the mend from an ankle injury, Suryakumar Yadav is set to lead the team in the forthcoming five-match T20I series against Australia, commencing on November 23. Ruturaj Gaikwad will step in as the vice-captain for the initial three matches, with Shreyas Iyer slated to resume captaincy duties for the last two games upon his return to the squad. The T20I series swiftly follows India’s recent defeat to Australia in the ODI World Cup final in Ahmedabad, shifting the team’s focus to the T20 format as preparations intensify for the T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the USA, just six months away.

Suryakumar, Ishan Kishan, and Prasidh Krishna are the sole members retained from the ODI World Cup squad for the entire T20I series. Axar Patel, recovering from a quadriceps strain that kept him out of the World Cup, marks his return to the squad. Notable exclusions from the T20I lineup include Sanju Samson and Shahbaz Ahmed, both of whom were part of the squad for the Ireland T20Is in August. Despite their noteworthy domestic performances, Riyan Parag and Abhishek Sharma miss out on spots in the T20I squad.

Read More: Analyzing the missed opportunities in India’s defeat in ICC Cricket World Cup Final 2023

The squad features Axar Patel as the designated all-rounder alongside Washington Sundar, while Ravi Bishnoi holds the role of the sole wristspinner. Suryakumar Yadav, renowned for leading Mumbai in domestic cricket, will make his debut as the captain of the Indian side. VVS Laxman, the former coach of the India men’s team, will oversee the team for the five T20Is, starting in Visakhapatnam and continuing on to Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, Raipur, and Bengaluru.

India’s T20I Squad for Australia: Suryakumar Yadav (capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-capt), Ishan Kishan (wk), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, Shreyas Iyer (vice-capt, available only for the last two T20Is).

If you are interested to know more about the ICC World Cup 2023, read here:

  1. ICC World Cup 2023: Streaming platform Hotstar creates a new history amidst tumbling records in Wankhede
  2. Rachin Ravindra’s early grit: From childhood setbacks to unwavering dedication in Wellington
  3. ICC World Cup 2023: Captain Rohit unlikely to tinker with the winning combination ahead of a decisive clash against the Kiwis
  4. ICC World Cup 2023: Virat Kohli surpasses Sachin Tendulkar’s record for 50th ODI century

Share post:



More like this